2021 Continuing Education Offerings

WEBINAR: Relearning Griefwork: Forget the 5 Stages and use 5 Questions to Guide the Work

February 24th, 2024 Noon - 1 PM CST

NASWWI Chapter 0 989

Presented by Judith L.M. McCoyd, PhD, LCSW


Many social workers were trained to engage with griefwork using Kübler-Ross’ stages of dying, yet people came to apply them broadly to grief generally- a misapplication with problematic implications. Despite most grief theorists’ and researchers’ rejection of the stage approach, people continue to force a 5 stage model.   After explaining the problematic aspects of this, we will discuss an alternate approach that centers the grievers’ experience by asking questions rather than assuming standardized responses. Questions that help grievers reflect on areas that current grief theory identifies as important will be suggested as a better map for clinical work with people who are grieving.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Be able to differentiate the common phrase “five stages of grief” from Kübler-Ross’ original work.
  2. Describe some of the destructive and anti- social work aspects of applying stage theory to grief.
  3. Identify at least two newer grief theories that support a question-based intervention.


Member - $25
Member - Student or Retired - $20
Non-Member - $35

Theme picker